Back and ready for something new…

Firstly, I would like to wish everyone a belated Happy New Year!  I hope you all enjoyed the holiday season (it feels like a distant memory now!)  Apologies for the delayed post, to those of you who read them!

You could say I have had some-what of a roller-coaster couple of months, with times of trepidation and uncertainty.  However, I am delighted to announce I have come out the other side and achieved my ultimate ambition…

I now work as a full-time Design Assistant, in a newly appointed team for the Jamie Oliver Restaurant Group.  Gone are the days of clearing plates and reciting specials.  Now, I can finally put my experience in hospitality to good use and help create beautiful, thoughtful design for a brand I feel extremely passionate about.  This is the most extraordinary and over whelming opportunity that has ever been handed to me.  I am teaming with immense pride and honour to continue to work for such an inspiring company who are at the forefront of pioneering design.  I cannot wait to prove myself as a valued member of their team.

So due to this categorical career change, I am going to pay homage to great restaurant and bar design from around the world. Some selections may be seen to be a little biased, nonetheless undoubtedly deserving of recognition for brilliant design.

Barbecoa, St Paul’s London
Jamie’s Italian, Bristol
Fifteen, Amsterdam
Jamie’s Italian, Cardiff
Jamie’s Italian, Gatwick
j.i dubai
Jamie’s Italian, Dubai
Trattoria, Richmond
Union Jacks, Covent Garden, London
Byron, Covent Garden, London
Circus, Covent Garden, London
Bangalore Express, London
Bangalore Express, London
Clancy's Fish Bar, Perth Australia
Clancy’s Fish Bar, Perth, Australia
Fat Noodle, Brisbane, Australia
Fat Noodle, Brisbane, Australia
Pump Room, Chicago, USA
Pump Room, Chicago, USA
W Seatle, Seatle, USA
W Seatle, Seatle, USA
Toy, New York, USA
Toy, New York, USA
Taiwan Noodle House, China
Taiwan Noodle House, China
Tazmania Ballroom, Hong Kong
Tazmania Ballroom, Hong Kong
The Tower Kitchen, India
The Tower Kitchen, India

And so, I have finished my third week in this new role and I can honestly say I have never learnt so much in such a short amount of time.  It has been breathtaking, daunting, fast paced and exciting.  I have experienced a whirlwind of emotions and encountered tasks I never thought I’d be tackling so early on.  I am just finding my feet in an industry I have no real idea about.  I have a lot to learn, but that’s what motivates and excites me.  I have the chance to learn from the best in the trade and therefore I’m going to take it and run with it!  I look forward to write my next entry…

Leave a Reply

